Demons at Deadnight by A&E Kirk

0
COMMENTS

Demons at Deadnight by A&E Kirk




Book Rating


Clipboard image 2017 06 12 17 07 46

Blurb



THE #1 Amazon Bestselling Series and Night Owl Review 5 STAR TOP PICK with nearly 6,000 5-Star reviews on Goodreads! Paranormal urban fantasy at its best, featuring the FAN FAVORITE SEXY HEX BOYS!! It's a thrill ride you won't be able to put down! Full of action, adventure, mystery, suspense, romance, demons, twists and turns, hot Hex Boys, a heroine full of sass and snark, and laugh out loud humor that makes this series irresistible! Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Jennifer L. Armentrout, Jaymin Eve, and Jane Washington.
For seventeen-year-old Aurora Lahey, survival is a lifestyle.

DEMONIC DESTINY Aurora has the crappiest superpower on the planet. And it's just unleashed a hit squad from hell. Demons are on the hunt, salivating to carve her carcass into confetti.

CHARISMATIC KILLERS
The Hex Boys--mysterious, hunky, and notorious for their trails of destruction--have the answers Aurora needs to survive. But their overload of deadly secrets and suspicious motives makes trusting them a potentially fatal move.

LETHAL ALLIES
The battle to save her family, herself, and stop demonic domination may cost Aurora everything worth living for, and force her to reveal her own dark secrets. But no worries. She needs the Hex Boys to pull this off, and, chances are, teaming up with these guys will get her killed anyway.

Review


Aurora is a seventeen-year teen who can see demons. She moves back to a town where she used to live when she was younger because an incident happened. She ends up starting to be hunted by demons and she doesn’t know why. When she ends up back in this town she ends up be of catching the attention a guy who happens to be part of a group of friends who are known as The Hex Boys. People in their high school don’t know much about the Hex Boys because they stay to their group.
This is not a prophecy book. Actually, there were people before her that who was like her but actually happen to be male. She is the first female to be what you will find out if you read.
I love the characters in this book especially. The Hex Boys definitely have their own personalities. I love the interaction between Matthias and Aurora. To me their interaction is humorous. A secondary character that I love is Aurora mum. She is one of those fierce protective mothers. There is a part in the book where you see a humorous side to that. Gloria is a character who I find enjoyable to read.
I love this book. It is so enjoyable to read. The series is definitely a series to continue. I found it humorous and laughed many times. It is a fun read. I highly recommend this book. I give it a 5/5 rating. Finally, have to say this is a bonus. There are food recipes in the back. So don’t stop at the end of the story.

Fire by Kristin Cashore

0
COMMENTS

Fire by Kristin Cashore




Book Rating


Clipboard image 2017 06 12 17 07 46

Blurb



SHE HAS BEEN HIDDEN AWAY.
Now she is choosing to use her power.
It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. In King City, the young King Nash is clinging to the throne, while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. War is coming. And the mountains and forest are filled with spies and thieves. This is where Fire lives, a girl whose beauty is impossibly irresistible and who can control the minds of everyone around her.
Everyone...except Prince Brigan



Review


Fire is a prequel novel to Graceling I will like to say first. You don’t have to read Graceling first. This book is an intriguing. It has war, romance, mystery, and coming out of one's shell and self-acceptance. The plot and idea of the story are so enjoyable to read. When I began reading this, I was caught right away because of the opening scene of the chapter. I didn’t want to stop reading it. So I read it nonstop, and it kept my attention the whole time. The book’s setting definitively helps the story. The warring factions and who they try to recruit. Even though this is not historical fiction, it has that more 18th-century technology and setup of government as an absolute monarch. Though, not all the culture is like the 18th century. Such as women being a part of the military, and they are more equal like in recent times. The Dellian people have their language and culture. For funerals, they burn the bodies and sing what is called the Dellian Lament. There are the main antagonist's plot and the secondary antagonist's plot that intertwine but are separate.

I love the characters. Especially Fire and Brigan. I love how Fire started out with self-doubt and no acceptance of her being a human monster. I love how she over time through the war she starts accepting the fact that she is a human monster and that doesn’t mean she has to be evil. She starts out not wanting to use her abilities for the war but over time she realizes that she can use the abilities of a human monster to help the war. I love Brigan even though he was cold in the beginning. The other characters are amazing and are well developed. They were entertaining to read. They had me laugh, and they had me frown.

I highly recommend this book. Especially those who love Fantasy genre and the Romance genres. There are times when sex is implied, but it is not explicit. So that is why I would categorize this in Teen. It is still a wonderful read, and I also recommend it to adults too. This book definitely categorizes as a favorite for me. Hope you give this a chance.

Initiation By Rebecca Royce

0
COMMENTS

Initiation by Rebecca Royce




Clipboard image 2017 06 12 17 07 46

Blurb



Keep your friends close...and your enemies closer.

Rachel Clancy has had to learn the hard way that you can't always trust who you know.

Born with a specific set of genes that lets her fight monsters, Rachel has trained her entire life to kill vampires and werewolves. Unprepared for the level of deception and betrayal she faces as she journeys Upwards to battle her enemies, it's not long before Rachel finds herself on a quest that will alter the lives of everyone she knows.


Including Rachel's...


Review


Sixteen-year-old Warrior Rachel Clancy lives in a post-apocalyptic world where humankind was almost wiped out thirty years before she was born because of werewolves and vampires. This end of the world moment is known as Armageddon. In this apocalyptic world, some humans have a special gene, and these Warriors are relied on to kill these monsters and keep the non-Warrior human safe. Rachel was supposed to go out with others her age but was gets sent out on an unprecedented Upward. The Upward that is unprecedented happens because of Dr. Isaac Icahn who suggested it. He's known and viewed as the man who saved humankind from dying out by discovering the Warrior gene. Rachel was expected to die from this Upward which was a revenge plan for Dr. Isaac Icahn because Rachel’s father allowed Isaac’s daughter to die. While Rachel is out, she gets, attacked by some vampires. She was about to die when a werewolf kills the vampires. She ends up making it to her destination but ends up being knocked out. She wakes up to a handsome werewolf and one of his sisters. While Rachel is with her is with these werewolves she starts questioning if werewolves are really the enemy. She also learns that someone she knows might actually be the one behind Armageddon.

I am first going to state the ONLY thing that almost stopped me from continuing. First, I want to say is that I was almost not going to finish because I liked the main love interest and at one point I thought I wouldn’t be happy with the way it was going. Though I am so happy I continued to read it because I ended up wanting the main love interest to be someone else. I had a feeling the person who I am rooting for now would be a potential and I, am so happy they are. That was the only reason why I would want to stop, but I loved every other moment.

The main character Rachel I like as a character, but her only flaw is that she is naive when it comes to love. Being naive usually bothers me but she is only sixteen so, it didn’t bother me as much. Actually, I think it helped the story in a way with how it ended and also it showed that she still has much to learn and grow as a character. Not just a sixteen-year-old who doesn’t have much room to grow and learn as a character. Now onto Jason the main love interest. In the beginning, I rooted for him and at one point was worried that they wouldn’t be together. Though I got to a point, when I stopped rooting for him, and I was hoping she wouldn’t want to be with him. I am now rooting for someone else, and his name is Chad, who I can’t wait to see more of in the next book. For Dr. Isaac, I don’t like him, and I will never like him as a person. Though I do like him as the antagonist and I do wish to see more of him. There are other characters I can go on about but I won’t.

I love the idea of this post-apocalyptic world and the story that goes with it. I definitely want to continue this story, and I hope to see more action and romance too. I think Rebecca Royce did an awesome job on this and I think she did an awesome way to end this book of Rachel’s story. When I am about to stop I usually don’t get pulled back in but with this book, I ended up pulled back in, and I want more.

I am honest when I write my reviews, and I give this book five stars. You might be wondering why I might be giving five stars even though my opinions of Rachel and what caused me almost to stop. Well, the reason why is because to me being naive is a necessity and I actually liked it because Rachel’s character should be naive in some category of her life. She is 16 and love should be the category. Then the relationship with Jason I was able to be pulled back in which is an accomplishment. Since usually when I check out I am out. So those two accomplishments give the rating bonus points. So excited to continue.